And That's a Wrap · Tea Time with Ravenclaw · What Am I Waiting For

Goodbye 2016; Hello 2017

I am going to be blunt right now but 2016 in terms of reading, sucks. There is a hint of disappointment for myself because I was not able to finish my Goodreads challenge, which was 35 out of 65. I guess I could loosen up the ties on myself since I am in the eleventh grade and I had to adjust to the new system and whatnots. Okay pessimistic vibe is over and I present you all with my ten favorite reads of 2016:

*There is no particular order pertaining to which book is the best

faves

1. The Diviners by Libba Bray – The suspense, mystery, diversity of characters combined was a huge plus for me.

2. Me Before You by Jojo Moyes – I think my most favorite bit about this book was the characters – specifically, I love the wittiness and uniqueness.

3. The Winner’s Kiss by Marie Rutkoski – I know that not a lot of readers are a fan of this conclusion but I think I was satisfied and loved how Rutkoski ended The Winner’s Kiss trilogy.

4. A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas Duh. Of course, how could I forget that this book turned me into trash, after reading? I finished this last June and I became trash so I went through Tumblr to ease my book hangover. Fast-forward to now, I am still looking through Tumblr and just reading fanfiction. See what Sarah J. Maas did to me.

5. A Gathering of Shadows by V.E Schwab – This sequel made me fall in love more with the Shades of Magic series. I love the magical elements included, especially the settings of the three Londons, and the characters.

6. Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo – I am honestly so sad that this duology is done. I loved everything ever since Six of Crows – especially the diverse characters (*ahem* Kaz fricking Brecker *ahem*).

7. The Unexpected Everything – Yes I would obviously include this contemporary novel because Morgan Matson is the queen of all summer contemporaries and she slayed me yet again through writing this novel.

8. Milk and Honey – Despite this book not being a novel, it is still a good read most, especially when you feel like the world is shit. 

9. Salt to the Sea – This is one of those historical fictional novels that is heartbreaking yet so good. What I most appreciate was how it was not heavy with the melancholy vibe that in the end, you would not feel so tense when conflicts were resolved.

10. Highly Illogical Behavior – Even though the book talks about the main character dealing with his condition, I am glad that the story was not too dull in a way that I would just drop the book and walk away (finished or not finished). 

My anticipated reads of 2017:

anti-reads


resolution

In terms of me as a Bibliophile:

  • Annotate my books to make better book reviews
  • Post in blog at least once a week
  • When I have free time, read as a stress reliever
  • Post photos in Instagram for at least 2-3 a week

Personal:

  • Manage time wisely
  • Do advanced work, no matter how far deadlines are
  • Save money
  • Get organized
  • Be less judgemental
  • Think positive

Here comes the pessimistic truth. I’ll admit this but 2016 could possibly be the year that could be compared to a daunting roller coaster. I’ve had my ups and downs in relation to my academics, there was a point where I was ready to get hit by a car out of nowhere due to the amounts of stress piling up, my lightbulb for motivation and inspiration had been off for most of the part of 2016, I constantly had book slumps, and I had a dwelling thought of quitting Bookstagram. 2016 was a harsh year. I felt like I was dropped onto a tundra biome; surrounded by the biting cold air.

In the positive note, though, it is a good thing that I would think about the consequences if I did quit bookstagram and blogging. I knew that I would be hurting myself and there would be this heavy weight of guilt because I would be killing my hobby of taking photos of books, discovering and exploring books, and thinking of catchy captions. So thank God that I have learned so many learnings in 2016 and hopefully I could turn to a new leaf in 2017.

My reading goal for 2017 is:

50

I’m not gonna be too ambitious for 2017 so I lessened the number of books for the Goodreads challenge.


Dear 2017,

May you please be good to me.

nikki

Leave a Reply

